Coming soon: Baby I’ve Got It! More Motown Girls (Kent)

Coming soon: Baby I've Got It! More Motown Girls (Kent)
Coming soon: Baby I’ve Got It! More Motown Girls (Kent)
Note that I independently write and research everything in this article. But it may contain affiliate links.

The first volume appeared back in 2013 and the second one in 2015. So time for a third – Baby I’ve Got It! More Motown Girls is now available to pre-order.

Basically if you love your Motown you are going to buy this regardless. It;s a collection of rarities and unissued recordings from the Kent offshoot of Ace Records. I probably don’t need to say anymore. But I will.

Of the 24 tracks on ‘Baby I’ve Got It!’, 14 are previously unissued and 10 were first made available as ‘Motown Unreleased’ downloads between 2014 and 2017. The tracks were recorded between 1961 and 1969 and mainly uptempo. All with the trademark Motown sound of course.

The collection opens with ‘In My Heart I Know It’s Right’, the first song Gladys Knight & the Pips recorded for Motown, and closes with Kim Weston. In between you’ll find the likes of the Marvelettes, Brenda Holloway, Martha & the Vandellas – alongside lesser-known collector’s favourites such as Liz Lands and LaBrenda Ben.

30th March is the release date, but you can pre-order now. It sells for £13.97.

Find out more at the Amazon website


01. In My Heart I Know It’s Right – Gladys Knight & The Pips
02. Without Love You Lose A Good Feelin’ (original mix) – Brenda Holloway
03. It’s Been A Long Time Happenin’ – Rita Wright
04. Honey Don’t Leave Me – The Lewis Sisters
05. Baby I’ve Got It – Brenda Holloway
06. It’s Crazy Baby – Liz Lands
07. There Are Things – Ann Bogan
08. I’m Willing To Pay The Price – Martha & The Vandellas
09. Bad News – LaBrenda Ben
10. When Someone’s Good To You – Oma Page
11. Is This Why (I Gave My Love To You) – Gladys Knight & The Pips
12. I Up And Think Of You – Kim Weston
13. It’s All Right – LaBrenda Ben
14. She Don’t Love You (with strings) – Mary Wells
15. Mr Misery (Let Me Be) – Martha & The Vandellas
16. Playboy (first version) – The Marvelettes
17. Cookie Boy – Thelma Brown
18. Keep Away – Little Lisa
19. Sweet Talkin’ Guy – The Marvelettes
20. I Know (You Don’t Love Me No More) – Yvonne Fair
21. You’ve Got Possibilities – Barbara McNair
22. In Your Heart – Patrice Holloway
23. There Was – The Lollipops
24. So Long – Kim Weston

Love Modculture? If you enjoy what you read or have benefitted from it and want to help with the ever-increasing costs of the site and newsletter, you can always buy me a coffee at Ko-Fi. Every penny is helpful and appreciated.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *