Coming soon: Fire & Skill: The Jam Live six CD box set

Fire & Skill: The Jam Live six CD box set
Fire & Skill: The Jam Live six CD box set
Note that I independently write and research everything in this article. But it may contain affiliate links.

Actually it isn’t coming that soon, but you can pre-order the Fire & Skill: The Jam Live six CD box set right now if you want to.

The release date is 30th October 2015 via Universal / Polydor and said to coincide with 40 years since the ‘classic’ line-up first started touring. Presumably capitalising on the current interest in the band via the Somerset House exhibition too.

Anyway, the box set features six previously unreleased concerts, one from each year of their major-label career and all remastered at Abbey Road. Those are:

1. An early gig at London’s 100 Club from 1977. This show took place 10 months after they first played the venue in November 1976, and was recorded for broadcast on American radio ahead of the trio’s inaugural visit to US in October 1977 for a six-date tour.

2. A Music Machine show from 1978, featuring most of This Is The Modern World.

3. Reading University from February 1979, which showcased All Mod Cons and was The Jam’s first live appearance of 1979.

4. Newcastle City Hall in October 1980, with a set built around album Sound Affects.

5. London’s Hammersmith Palais in December 1981. Part of The Jam’s four consecutive nights there, previewing material from The Gift.

6. One of the band’s final gigs at Wembley Arena – December 1982 – part of the 14-date farewell tour.

In addition, there is a mini, lift-off lid box with 72-page, colour hard-back book, individual gatefold wallets for the discs, designed as facsimiles of the original tape boxes, a new essay, period photos, rare memorabilia and a set of five postcard prints.

Tracklistings are below and the price is around £59.99 from either Amazon or the Virgin EMI shop.

Disc One
Live at the 100 Club – 11th September 1977

1. I’ve Changed My Address
2. Carnaby Street
3. The Modern World
4. Time For Truth
5. So Sad About Us
6. London Girl
7. In The Street Today
8. Standards
9. All Around The World
10. London Traffic
11. Heat Wave
12. Sweet Soul Music (b-side of ‘Modern Word’ single)
13. Bricks And Mortar (b-side of ‘Modern Word’ single)
14. In The City
15. Art School
16. Back In My Arms Again (b-side of ‘Modern Word’ single)
17. Slow Down
18. In The Midnight Hour
19. Sounds From The Street
20. Takin’ My Love
21. In The City (encore)

Disc Two
Live at the Music Machine – 2nd March 1978

1. The Modern World
2. London Traffic
3. I Need You
4. The Combine
5. Aunties And Uncles
6. Standards
7. Here Comes The Weekend
8. Sounds From The Street
9. News Of The World
10. London Girl
11. In The Street Today
12. Bricks And Mortar
13. In The Midnight Hour
14. Carnaby Street
15. All Around The World
16. Slow Down
17. News Of The World (Sound-check – bonus track)

Disc Three
Live at Reading University – 16th February 1979

1. The Modern World
2. Sounds From The Street
3. Away From The Numbers
4. All Mod Cons To Be Someone
5. It’s Too Bad
6. Mr Clean
7. Billy Hunt
8. In The Street Today
9. Standards (Originally released on ‘Dig The New Breed’ album 1982)
10. Tonight At Noon
11. Down In The Tube Station At Midnight
12. News Of The World
13. Here Comes The Weekend
14. Bricks And Mortar / Batman
15. The Place I Love
16. David Watts
17. Heat Wave
18. ‘A’ Bomb In Wardour Street

Disc Four
Live at Newcastle City Hall – 28th October 1980

1. Intro
2. Dreamtime
3. Thick As Thieves
4. Boy about Town
5. Monday
6. Going Underground
7. Pretty Green
8. Man In The Corner Shop
9. Set The House Ablaze
10. Private Hell
11. Liza Radley
12. Dreams Of Children
13. The Modern World
14. Little Boy Soldiers
15. But I’m Different Now
16. Start!
17. Scrape Away
18. Strange Town
19. When You’re Young
20. The Eton Rifles
21. Billy Hunt
22. Down In The Tube Station At Midnight
23. To Be Someone
24. ‘A’ Bomb In Wardour Street
25. David Watts

Disc Five
Live at Hammersmith Palais – 14th December 1981

1. The Gift / Down In The Tube Station At Midnight
2. Man In The Corner Shop (originally released on ‘Live Jam’ album 1993)
3. Ghosts
4. Absolute Beginners
5. Town Called Malice (originally released on ‘Live Jam’ album 1993)
6. Set The House Ablaze (Originally released on ‘Dig The New Breed’ album 1982)
7. That’s Entertainment / Tales From The River Bank
8. Precious
9. Happy Together
10. In The Crowd / David Watts
11. Boy About Town
12. Pretty Green
13. Funeral Pyre (originally released on ‘Live Jam’ album 1993)
14. Circus
15. Going Underground
16. Big Bird (Originally released on ‘Dig The New Breed’ album 1982)
17. Little Boy Soldiers

Disc Six
Live at Wembley Arena – 2nd December 1982

1. Start!
2. It’s Too Bad
3. Beat Surrender
4. Away From The Numbers
5. Ghosts
6. In The Crowd
7. Boy About Town
8. Get Yourself Together
9. All Mod Cons
10. To Be Someone
11. Smithers-Jones
12. The Great Depression
13. Move On Up
14. When You’re Young
15. David Watts
16. Private Hell
17. Down In The Tube Station At Midnight
18. Mr Clean
19. Trans-Global Express
20. Going Underground
21. The Butterfly Collector (originally released on ‘Live Jam’ album 1993)
22. Dreams Of Children
23. The Gift

Love Modculture? If you enjoy what you read or have benefitted from it and want to help with the ever-increasing costs of the site and newsletter, you can always buy me a coffee at Ko-Fi. Every penny is helpful and appreciated.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *