Popcorn Soul Party – Blended Soul And R&B 1958-62 vinyl

Popcorn Soul Party - Blended Soul And R&B 1958-62 vinyl
Popcorn Soul Party – Blended Soul And R&B 1958-62 vinyl
Note that I independently write and research everything in this article. But it may contain affiliate links.

The last of a quartet of compilations spotted this week, with the Popcorn Soul Party – Blended Soul And R&B 1958-62 vinyl being another from Outta Sight.

What’s it all about? Well, it’s about popcorn sounds from the turn of the 1960s, but if you want the full label write-up, it goes like this…

Belgium ‘Popcorn’ borrows its name from the 1969 James Brown LP, The Popcorn, which also became the moniker for the Popcorn Club in Vrasene, Flanders which, in its heyday, attracted 3,000 youths to its Sunday sessions.

It was DJ Gilbert Govaert who pioneered the sound, blending blues, soul, jazz, latin, doo-wop and high-school pop in a unique melting pot that appealed to dancers seeking that chugging cha-cha beat.

Our Popcorn Soul Party carries on the tradition with many tracks culled from the original playlists and others, such as the incredibly elusive Willie J Charles ‘Feelin’ Kinda Lonesome’ which has become popular in more recent times. This unique set will appeal to Popcorn oldies fans, new breed Northern Soul fans and R&B collectors alike. Look out for new-to-vinyl reissues courtesy of Ki Ki Page and Chance Halladay! The Party Continues.

16 tracks on the vinyl collection, all listed below. Out on 4th August 2017 and available for pre-order now, retailing for £15.70.

Find out more at the Amazon website

Track listing:

1. Feelin’ Kinda Lonesome – Willie J Cahrles
2. Let’s Start A Romance – Little Joe Hinton
3. Big Boy – Ki Ki Page with Plas Johnson & Orchestra
4. Sweetheart – Frank Heppinstall
5. The Hammer Keeps A Knockin’ – Faye Adams
6. I Say! Thats Alright – Roosevelt Jones
7. Up In Smoke – Johnny Appalachian
8. My Guardian Angel – Jimmy Breedlove
9. Love You The Best – Ernie K-Doe
10. Dance By Yourself – Justin Jones
11. Lucky Is My Name – Bruce Cloud
12. Bury Me Deep – Chance Halladay
13. Put On My Shoes – Mary Ann Fisher
14. Fever – The Knockouts
15. Betty Mae – Roger Green
16. She’s A Heartbreaker – The Chandeliers
Love Modculture? If you enjoy what you read or have benefitted from it and want to help with the ever-increasing costs of the site and newsletter, you can always buy me a coffee at Ko-Fi. Every penny is helpful and appreciated.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *