R&B Hipshakers Volume 1 – CD / vinyl

Note that I independently write and research everything in this article. But it may contain affiliate links.


Can't say I'd heard of this release, but R&B Hipshakers Volume 1 (aka teach me To Monkey) on the Vampisoul label seems will worth investigating.

It's compiled by Mr Fine Wine (of Downtown Soulville radio show and podcast fame), pulling tracks from the Federal and King vaults, ranging from '56 to '67 – everything from dancers and instrumentals through to weirdness and love songs if the online sleevenotes are anything to go by.

Check out over the page for the full tracklisting. But here's the good bit – you can get it on CD and as a 10x 7-inch box set, the latter available for 45 Euros online. You can get the CD for around £9 at Amazon.

Find out more at the Amazon website


1. Gibble, Gobble (Willie Wright)
2. Broadway (Hank Ballard)
3. What Makes You So Cold (Lulu Reed)
4. My Nerves (Little Willie John)
5. I Don't Know About You (Lloyd Nolan)
6. Slummer The Slum (The "5" Royales)
7. Where You At Jack (Little Mummy)
8. That's It Man (The Valentines)
9. Mind Your Own Business (Eugene Church)
10. Regardless (Charles Brown)
11. Here It Is Right Here (El Pauling)   
12. One Zippy Zam (Roy Milton & His Orchestra)
13. Texas Oil (Freddy King)
14. Mr Astronaut (The Drivers)
15. Your Well Ran Dry (Carol Ford)
16. Do The Ginger Snap (Little Bobby Moore)
17. Mom, Won't You Teach Me To Monkey (Little Emmett Sutton)
18. Uncle Willie's Got A Thing Going On (Willie Dixon & The Big Wheels)
19. Posin' (Johnny Watson)
20. Hog Killin' Time (Eddie Kirk)

Love Modculture? If you enjoy what you read or have benefitted from it and want to help with the ever-increasing costs of the site and newsletter, you can always buy me a coffee at Ko-Fi. Every penny is helpful and appreciated.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *