The Doors 1967 live album

A new live album of The Doors performing in San Francisco, just before the release of their breakthrough single ‘Light My Fire’, is being put out by Rhino.The_doors

Recorded at The Matrix venue over two nights in March 1967, the set had previously only been available as poor quality bootleg (featuring only a handful of the tracks that were actually played). The Doors perform much of what appears on their self-titled debut album, plus several tracks from second album Strange Days, plus covers of ‘Get Out Of My Life, Woman’, ‘I’m A King Bee’, and ‘Gloria’. Producer Bruce Botnick says the album “is probably the closest we’ve come to a true document of The Doors without constraints”.

The Live At The Matrix 1967 tracklisting is:
Disc One:
1. “Break On Through (To The Other Side)”
2. “Soul Kitchen”
3. “Money”
4. “The Crystal Ship”
5. “Twentieth Century Fox”
6. “I’m A King Bee”
7. “Alabama Song (Whisky Bar)”
8. “Summer’s Almost Gone”
9. “Light My Fire”
10. “Get Out Of My Life Woman”
11. “Back Door Man”
12. “Who Do You Love”
13. “The End”

Disc Two:
1. “Unhappy Girl”
2. “Moonlight Drive”
3. “Woman Is A Devil/Rock Me”
4. “People Are Strange”
5. “Close To You”
6. “My Eyes Have Seen You”
7. “Crawling King Snake”
8. “I Can’t See Your Face In My Mind”
9. “Summertime”
10. “When The Music’s Over”
11. “Gloria”

Live At The Matrix is out on the 24th November, and is available from Amazon here.

One Comment

  1. I think the cover is a missed opportunity.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *