UK Sue Story Volume 4

Sue4 Not content with releasing three fantastic Sue compilations, Ace Records has released a 4th volume – the UK Sue Story Volume 4 – that’s in the shops now.

Here’s the tale – UK Sue’s A&R guru Guy Stevens always intended to compile and issue a fourth vinyl volume of "The Sue Story". Now, just 39 years after the original Volume 3 found its way into record stores, Ace and Kent have honoured Guy’s wishes by putting together their own Volume 4, featuring tracks all originally released in the UK on Sue that may well have formed that core of Guy’s final instalment.

A typical mix of big names and lesser-known artists, all reflective of the  A&R policy of the late Guy Stevens, with around a third of the tracks have never been reissued on CD or LP.

Unlikely to be a review on Modculture as Ace/Kent no longer send us anything (and we’re too broke to buy everything they put out), the tracklisting makes it well worth investigating (see continuation for full track list). If you want to know more about Sue, check out Doug Hadgraft’s Reds and Yellows feature.

More on UK Sue Story 4 at Amazon


1. Good Time Tonight – The Soul Sisters
2. A Fool In Love – Ike & Tina Turner
3. La De Da I Love You – Inez & Charlie Foxx
4. I Put A Spell On You – Screamin’ Jay Hawkins
5. Down The Aisle – Patti Labelle And Her Bluebelles
6. Rockin’ Pneumonia And The Boogie Woogie Flu Part 1 – Huey Piano Smith And His Clowns
7. Odds And Ends – Jimmy Reed
8. Doodlin’ – Baby Washington
9. Steal Your Heart Away – Bobby Parker
10. Lost In A Dream – Buster Brown
11. Pork Chops – The Dorsets
12. Lenny Goofed – The Naturals
13. Knocking At Your Door – Elmore James
14. Love Call – Gladys Knight And The Pips
15. So Far Away – Hank Jacobs
16. The Strength To Be Strong – Claudine Clark
17. Stepping Stone Aka You’re Fooling Me – The Anglos
18. I Stand Accused – Jerry Butler
19. The Whip Aka Flea Pot – Alexander Jackson And The Turnkeys Aka Lala Wilson Band
20. Warm And Tender Love – Joe Haywood
21. Find Out What’s Happening – The Spidells Featuring Billy Lockridge
22. Dance What You Wanna – Little Richard
23. I’m Dedicating My Life – Danny White
24. You Make Me Feel So Good – Tarheel Slim And Little Ann
25. Goin’ Home – Rosco Gordon
26. Round Midnight – Jimmy Mcgriff

One Comment

  1. Dean Rudland

    don’t be silly, of course we will still send you stuff. All you have to do is ask.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *