Vinyl release: Girl Group Sounds USA 1964-68

Vinyl release: Girl Group Sounds USA 1964-68
Vinyl release: Girl Group Sounds USA 1964-68
Note that I independently write and research everything in this article. But it may contain affiliate links.

Officially titled Would She Do That For You?!, this is subtitled Girl Group Sounds USA 1964-68 and is a vinyl-only release.

That release is via Ace Records, so quality pretty much guaranteed you would expect.

As that title says, this is a collection spanning the years 1964 to 1968, 14 great examples of the US girl group sound.

Highlights include the Gary Paxton-produced ‘Earthquake’ by the Fashionettes, Cincinnati duo the 2 Of Clubs’ version of Garnet Mimms’ ‘Look Away’, the Motown-esque ‘This Couldn’t Be Me’ by the Sweethearts, and ex-Teddy Bear Carol Connors’ unlikely cover of Bob Dylan’s ‘He Belongs To Me’.

The inner bag features a 3,000-word track commentary by compiler Mick Patrick and with ‘illuminating’ quotes from Gigi Jackson of the Charmaines, Patti Valentine of the 2 Of Clubs and Darlene Love of the Blossoms.

If this is your kind of sound, the LP is available to order now, priced at £17.26. It lands on 31st May 2019. Tracks below.

Find out more about the LP at the Amazon website

Track listing:

1. Would She Do That for You – Mary Saenz
2. (Never More) Lonely for You – the Ikettes
3. Earthquake – the Fashionettes
4. I Have Feelings Too – Denita James
5. This Couldn’t Be Me – the Sweethearts
6. It Kinda Picks Me Up – Tanya Marie
7. Moon Out There – the Puffs
8. Why Does It Feel So Right (Doing Wrong) – the Shades of Jade
9. G.I. Joe – the Charmaines
10. Donnie – the Bermudas
11. He Belongs to Me – Carol Connors
12. Look Away – 2 of Clubs
13. They Are the Lonely – Pat Powdrill & the Powerdrills
14. Moon Walking – the Blossoms with Billy Strange

Love Modculture? If you enjoy what you read or have benefitted from it and want to support the growing costs of the site, you can always become a website supporter.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *