The Times – My Picture Gallery 6CD box set

The Times - My Picture Gallery 6CD box set
The Times – My Picture Gallery 6CD box set (image credit: Cherry Red)
Note that I independently write and research everything in this article. But it may contain affiliate links.

This is quite the set. The Times – My Picture Gallery 6CD box set, which is released via Cherry Red.

Yes, six CDs that pretty much cover the complete recordings released between 1981 and 1986 by Edward Ball’s much-loved Mod band The Times.

That includes the albums ‘Go! With The Times’ (recorded 1980 but only released in 1985), ‘Pop Goes Art!’ from 1982, ‘This Is London’ from 1983, ‘Hello Europe’ from 1984, ‘Up Against It’ from 1986, and finally, ‘Enjoy’ (1986).

But that’s not quite all. The set also includes The Times’ rare 1981 debut single ‘Red With Purple Flashes’ / ‘Biff! Bang! Pow!’ plus bonus tracks include The Times’ take on the ‘Theme From Dangerman’, a cover of
David Bowie’s ‘London Boys’, tracks from the 12-inch EPs ‘I Helped Patrick McGoohan Escape’ (1983), ‘Blue Period’ (1985), ‘Boys About Town’ (1986) and ‘Times TV’ (1986) and an alternative version of ‘I Helped Patrick McGoohan Escape’ taken from the ‘A Splash Of Colour’ compilation.

You can see all the tracks below if you want the full rundown of a box that will land on 26th November 2021. It sells for £29.99 if you want to pre-order.

Find out more at the Rough Trade website

Track Listing:

1 You Can Get It
2 I’m With You
3 Your Generation
4 Pinstripes
5 Dressing Up For The Cameras
6 Red With Purple Flashes
7 The Jokes On Zandra
8 Nowhere To Run
9 No Hard Feelings
10 My Andy Warhol Poster 11 Man From Uncle
12 Reflections In An Imperfect Mirror
Bonus Tracks
13 Red With Purple Flashes (1981 7” single version)
14 Biff! Bang! Pow! (1981 7” single version)
JJ Foster Mixes ([Simulated] Stereo)
15 My Andy Warhol Poster
16 Pinstripes
17 The Joke’s On Zandra
18 Nowhere To Run
19 No Hard Feelings
20 You Can Get It
21 Theme From Man From Uncle
22 Reflections In An Imperfect Mirror
Other Bonus Tracks
23 My Andy Warhol Poster (Teenage Filmstars “McGoohan” Sessions)
24 Spoken word: “Joe, Dan And Me… Before The Creation Contxt”

1 Picture Gallery
2 Biff! Bang! Pow!
3 It’s Time!
4 If Now Is The Answer
5 A New Arrangement
6 Looking At The World Through Dark Shades
7 I Helped Patrick McGoohan Escape
8 Pop Goes Art! (Melody In Mono)
9 Miss London
10 The Sun Never Sets 11 Easy As Pie
12 This Is TOMORROW….
Bonus tracks
13 Have You Seen The Beautiful People
14 This Is Tomorrow (Alternative Ending)
15 Picture Gallery (Teenage Filmstars “McGoohan” Sessions)
16 The Sun Never Sets (Teenage Filmstars “McGoohan” Sessions)
17 Easy As Pie (Teenage Filmstars “McGoohan” Sessions)
18 Theme From “Dangerman” 19 I Helped Patrick McGoohan Escape (1982 7” single version)
20 Theme From Dangerman (Alternative Session Take)
21 Goodbye Piccadilly (October 1981 version)
22 I Helped Patrick McGoohan Escape (A Splash Of Colour Version)
23 Spoken word: “I Haven’t Seen Him… In Anybody Else” Speech: Edward Ball December 1999

1 This Is London
2 Goodbye Piccadilly
3 Whatever Happened To Thamesbeat
4 If Only
5 Big Painting
6 Goodnight Children Everywhere
7 The Party
8 Stranger Than Fiction
9 (There’s A) Cloud Over Liverpool
10 Will Success Spoil Frank Summit?
11 The Chimes Of Big Ben
12 This Green And Pleasant Land
Bonus tracks
13 Here Come The Holidays
14 Three Cheers For The Sun
15 All Systems Are Go!
16 Up Against It (long version)
17 Big Painting.(Alternative Session Take)
18 Whatever Happened To Thamesbeat? (Alternative Session Take)
19 This Is London (Alternative Session Take)
20 All Systems Are Go! (Alternative Session Take)

1 Radiate
2 Blue Fire
3 Victory Drums
4 Everything Turns To Black And White
5 Boys Brigade
6 Where The Blue Begins
7 Public Reaction Killed This Cat
8 Faith
9 Things We’ve Learnt 10 Kulturshock
Bonus tracks
11 Power Is Forever
12 Stop In The Name Of Love 13 Tears On A Rainy Sunday
14 I’ll See You In My Dreams
15 Power Is Forever (alternative session take)
16 Biff Bang Pow (Live In Germany 1985)
17 Red With Purple Flashes (Live In Germany 1985)

Screenplay For The Beatles
1 Up Against It
2 Last Tango For One
3 Boys About Town
4 Garden In The Moonlight (Love Theme For McTurk And Rowena)
5 WPC Boon
6 Most Modern Woman In The World
7 Jacks Revolution
8 Ladies Of The Cause
9 Mutiny In The British Empire
10 Escape!
11 She’s A Professional
12 It’s Cabaret Time!
13 The War
14 The Wedding Song
Bonus Tracks
15 David Jones (Is On His Way)
16 Victim
17 Song For Joe Orton 18 London Boys
19 Dada Europe (I’m So Cut Up About You)
20 Oranges And Lemons 21 Dial L For Love

1 Britannia Sleeps Tonight
2 Something Like The Truth
3 (Where To Go) When The Sun Goes Down
4 Times TV
5 Think Big!
6 Housewives Law
7 The Third Wave
8 The American Way
9 Winning Hearts And Minds
10 Cousin Frank Goes To Hollywood
11 Enjoy
12 Dream Now (Young America)
13 Times Radio
14 When The Talking Had To Stop
Bonus Tracks
15 Trailer From Enjoy
16 The Polite Force
17 El Aragua
18 Pick It Up
19 Times Television Sting 20 If Only (Live At The 100 Club 1987)
21 (There’s A) Cloud Over Liverpool (Live At The 100 Club 1987)
22 I Helped Patrick McGoohan Escape (Thanks For The Trip Dad)

Love Modculture? If you enjoy what you read or have benefitted from it and want to help with the ever-increasing costs of the site and newsletter, you can always buy me a coffee at Ko-Fi. Every penny is helpful and appreciated.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *