Shake! Sixties Brit Mod Nuggets vinyl compilation

Shake! Sixties Brit Mod Nuggets vinyl compilation
Shake! Sixties Brit Mod Nuggets vinyl compilation (image credit: Amazon/Cherry Red)
Note that I independently write and research everything in this article. But it may contain affiliate links.

Well worth a look, the Shake! Sixties Brit Mod Nuggets vinyl compilation is a double album via Cherry Red.

The album is described as a ‘bespoke collection’ highlighting the British R&B scene, which was, of course, British artists’ takes on R&B, blues, and soul sounds coming out of the US. They didn’t play here much, so why not make it your own? Many did, building up their own (Mod) followings as a result.

And this collection showcases 34 tracks from the scene, covering both favourites and rarities from the period 1964 through to 1967. Side 1 focuses on the British R&B scene, including the likes of Alexis Korner with the rare ‘Taboo Man’ alongside The Bo Street Runners, The Others, Mickey Finn and The Blue Men (featuring Jimmy Page) and more.

Side 2 looks at British R&B groups ‘developing their own sound by turning up their guitars, employing distortion, feedback and fuzz pedals to take the music in a new direction’. Highlights on this side include the Joe Meek-produced ‘Crawdaddy Simone’ by The Syndicats, The In Crowd’s ‘Things She Says’ and The Artwoods’ ‘I Take What I Want’.

Side 3 is all about UK soul music – Rod ‘the Mod’ Stewart, backed by The Brian Auger Trinity, takes on Sam Cooke’s ‘Shake’, Laurel Aitken does The Mar-Keys’ ‘Last Night’, and Barry St. John sings the funky ‘Gotta Brand New Man’.

Side 4 includes Mod club dancefloor smashes from The Spencer Davis Group and Rupert’s People, while Mod heroes The Action goes psychedelic with ‘Look At The View’. Jeff Beck plays on John’s Children’s ‘But She’s Mine’, and there are singles revered by freakbeat and psych collectors such as Double Feature’s ‘Baby Get Your Head Screwed On’ and The Drag Set’s ‘Day And Night’. Rarities from The Trendbender Band and The Union (featuring Elmer Gantry) appear on vinyl for the first time.

Full tracks below, and if you want a copy, you can pre-order now ahead of the 27th October 2023 release date for £27.

Find out more at the Amazon website

1. The Bo Street Runners – Bo Street Runner (Single Version)
2. The Others – Oh Yeah
3. David John and The Mood – Bring It To Jerome
4. Mickey Finn and The Blue Men – I Still Want You
5. Ronnie Jones and The Night-Timers – I Need Your Loving
6. The Second Thoughts – Seventh Son
7. James Royal – Work Song
8. Alexis Korner’s Blues Incorporated – Taboo Man
9. The Trendbender Band – Unchain My Heart

1. The Syndicats – Crawdaddy Simone
2. The In Crowd – Things She Says
3. The Boys Blue – You Got What I Want
4. The Rocking Vicars – It’s Alright
5. The Artwoods – I Take What I Want
6. The Favourite Sons – That Driving Beat
7. The Moody Blues – And My Baby’s Gone
8. The Stormsville Shakers – Number One
9. The Union – See Saw

1. Rod Stewart – Shake
2. Laurel Aitken and The Soul Men – Last Night
3. Barry St John – Gotta Brand New Man
4. The Soul Brothers – Good Lovin’ Never Hurt
5. Lucas & The Mike Cotton Sound – Ain’t Love Good, Ain’t Love Proud
6. J.J. Jackson – But It’s Alright
7. Carl Douglas & The Big Stampede – Something For Nothing
8. Wynder K Frog – Turn On Your Lovelight

1. The Spencer Davis Group – Looking Back
2. Double Feature – Baby Get Your Head Screwed On
3. Scots Of St. James – Tic Toc
4. The Attraction – She’s A Girl
5. John’s Children – But She’s Mine
6. The Drag Set – Day And Night
7. Rupert’s People – Hold On
8. The Action – Look At The View

Love Modculture? If you enjoy what you read or have benefitted from it and want to help with the ever-increasing costs of the site and newsletter, you can always buy me a coffee at Ko-Fi. Every penny is helpful and appreciated.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *