The Who – Quadrophenia Half Speed Master vinyl reissue

The Who - Quadrophenia Half Speed Master vinyl reissue
The Who – Quadrophenia Half Speed Master vinyl reissue
Note that I independently write and research everything in this article. But it may contain affiliate links.

If you are looking to upgrade or replace your vinyl copy, The Who – Quadrophenia Half Speed Master vinyl reissue is coming your way.

Not quite yet, though. This version of the band’s 1973 classic doesn’t land until early next year. Although you can pre-order it now, as well as The Who By Numbers, which appears in a similar form on the same day.

The latter is cheaper because it is a single album. As you well know, the Quadrophenia concept album is over two discs and, as such, comes in at a higher price point. And, like most vinyl right now, that’s a lot more than it used to be.

Quadrophenia is/was the sixth studio album by The Who, released in October 1973 and for many, it’s their best work. Not sure it is for me, but it’s up there for sure. It’s the story of Jimmy Cooper and his ‘Mod’ life and breakdown and the inspiration for the movie that has pretty much dominated Mod for getting onto half a century.

This version of the album doesn’t add anything musically, but it is reissued to tie in with its 50th anniversary and returning on 2-LP 180-gram black vinyl from masters cut by Jon Astley at Close to the Edge and half-speed vinyl masters cut by Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios. The result is said to be a superior vinyl cut, but I suspect you will need a decent hi-fi set-up to get the full benefit.

It is packaged in its original gatefold sleeve with a 44-page booklet, Obi, and a certificate of authenticity. The tracks are listed below.

If you want a copy, you can pre-order now ahead of the 2nd February 2024 release date, priced at £59.99.

Find out more at the Amazon website


Disc: 1
1. I Am the Sea
2. The Real Me
3 Quadrophenia
4. Cut My Hair
5. The Punk and The Godfather

Disc: 2
1. I’m One
2. The Dirty Jobs
3. Helpless Dancer
4. Is It in My Head
5. I’ve Had Enough

Disc: 3
1. 5:15
2. Sea and Sand
3. Drowned
4. Bell Boy

Disc: 4
1. Doctor Jimmy
2. The Rock
3. Love, Reign O’er Me

Love Modculture? If you enjoy what you read or have benefitted from it and want to help with the ever-increasing costs of the site and newsletter, you can always buy me a coffee at Ko-Fi. Every penny is helpful and appreciated.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *